Skip to main content

You are here

Was Carroll's effort a goal?

May 7, 2012 - 1:49am

By: 

PICTURE: TAKEN OFF YOUTUBE

The major talking of Saturday's FA Cup final came about in the 82nd minute when Liverpool, trailing the Blues by a goal, thought they had equalised through substitute Andy Carroll.

Carroll had directed a powerful close-range header off a Luis Suarez cross, only for goalkeeper Petr Cech to claw the ball onto the cross bar and back into play. Neither the referee Phil Dowd nor his assistant Andrew Garratt was moved by Liverpool’s protests.

The New Paper’s refereeing analyst and former Fifa referee Francis Lee believes the officials made the right decision as the whole of the ball did not cross the line. A quarter of the ball was still on the line.

Football pundit and former Manchester United fullback Paul Parker is equally convinced that Liverpool were not robbed of a goal as some claimed.

More in The New Paper on Monday (May 7).

Comments

the ball must full inside the goal post then its a goal but Carroll header is not a goal.....

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes