Sports

Chappell deserves pat for honesty

He had mistakenly picked up the ball before marking it at the 16th hole at the Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club in the second round of the CIMB Classic yesterday.

No one had seen his mistake, but American Kevin Chappell decided to come clean with the officials and was hit with a one-stroke penalty.

"I assessed myself a stroke penalty... I picked my ball up before marking it and then played the hole out," said the 28-year-old.

"I decided not to call a rules official until we were done though, because I didn't think that it was going to be the best way for me to finish my round. When I got in, I made sure I got the right ruling before I signed my scorecard.

"I was 50 metres from anyone else, but there wasn't a question of what I was going to do. It's on your honour (to call penalties on yourself)."

Despite the one-stroke penalty, Chappell carded a four-under 68 to tie for third.

- LIM SAY HENG