The Singapore Gold Cup stars...

ABDUL MAWI: In 1958, he broke the foreign jockeys' dominance by being the first local rider to win the Singapore Gold Cup aboard Straits Code.

IVAN ALLAN: The seven-time Malayan Racing Association and three-time Hong Kong champion trainer (above) saddled a record nine Singapore Gold Cup winners, starting with Firebrand in 1973 and ending with Danzadancer in 1990.

TOMMY FARTHING: The Australian (above) was the first jockey to win three Singapore Gold Cups (Cockpen in 1936, Cooltipt in 1939 and Grand Prix in 1941). Two other jockeys have emulated his feat - Alan Trevena (Resquiller in 1963, Grenadier in 1966 and Moonbeam in 1968) and Ronnie Stewart (2008, 2009 and 2011, all aboard El Dorado).

JERRY SUNG: His Auric Stable won the most number of Singapore Gold Cups - five - starting with Man Of Courage II in 1974.

KIM CLAPPERTON: The darling of the turf (above), who was champion MRA jockey in 1993, was the only woman jockey to win the Singapore Gold Cup - aboard Auric Stable's Grand Jury in 1995.

CHRIS DRAGON: The uncle of Kranji's only woman trainer, Leticia Dragon, became the second local rider to capture the Singapore Gold Cup - aboard Balkan Bambino in 1961 - and he did it while still an apprentice.

THREE RINGS: The "Doc" Rodgers-trained mighty galloper was the first horse to win three Singapore Gold Cups (in 1954, 1956 and 1957). His feat was equalled only in recent years by the Hideyuki Takaoka-trained El Dorado (2008, 2009 and 2011).

SAAS FEE: The Ivan Allan-trained iron horse won his second Singapore Gold Cup in 1980 with 62kg (the first in 1978 was with 52.5kg). It was the heaviest weight carried in post-war years. Inaugural winner Thelasocrete humped 68kg.