Saved, but Vlaar's penalty for Holland nearly went in...
Holland's first penalty in their semi-final penalty shootout was so intimidating that two players dared to defy Louis van Gaal and say they couldn't take it, leaving the duty to defender Ron Vlaar.
And while everyone knows that the centre-back's penalty was saved by Argentina's Sergio Romero as the Oranje went on to lose 4-2, it could have been so very different if the ball had bounced just a teensy bit more after it cannoned off Albiceleste goalkeeper.
Just take a look at this video:
That's right folks, Romero's wild celebrations after making the first save could have turned to embarrassing blushes if the ball had just continued to roll a little bit more.
After all, the rules of the game state: "A kick is successful if, having been touched once by the kicker, the ball crosses the goal line between the goal posts and under the crossbar, without touching any player, official, or outside agent other than the defending goalkeeper.
"The ball may touch the goalkeeper, goal posts, or crossbar any number of times before going into the goal as long as the referee believes the ball's motion is the result of the initial kick."
However, there are some suggestions that Vlaar might have touched the ball with his shoulder after the save, although the video evidence isn't very conclusive.
One thing's for sure - the ball didn't cross the line and Argentina will face Germany while Holland have to settle for the third-place play-off against Brazil.
Source: Vine, YouTube