No action for Ivanovic

Branislav Ivanovic will not face any action over his clash with James McCarthy but both Chelsea and Everton have been charged by the Football Association for failing to control their players.

Chelsea's Serbian defender tangled with Everton midfielder McCarthy during a melee after the sending-off of Gareth Barry in the 86th minute of the London side's 1-0 win on Wednesday.

A panel of former referees studied the incident but decided it was not worthy of a red card.

However, both clubs face disciplinary action for "failing to ensure their players conducted themselves in an orderly fashion and/or refrained from provocative behaviour".

The FA also investigated claims made on social media that Ivanovic had bitten McCarthy - the body studied all video footage and contacted Everton - and found conclusively he had not done so.

Everton and Chelsea have until Tuesday to respond to the charge.

- PA Sport.