Dear drivers, here's where the 20 new speed cameras will be at

Motorists, take note. There will be more speed cameras along the roads this year.

This is how they will look like.

The traffic police announced at a press conference on Thursday (Jan 29) that it will be installing 20 new digital speed enforcement cameras between March 1 and Dec 31.

The cameras will be at 11 locations. Five of those are sites that presently do not have speed cameras.

Infographic: Singapore Police Force

The new sites were "chosen based on violation trends, accident data, and public feedback, while taking into consideration the terrain and road infrastructure", it said.

The cameras will operate 24 hours a day, rain or shine. The images will be downloaded remotely and processed quickly so that offenders can be promptly notified, said the traffic police.

Motorists caught speeding can be fined between $130 and $200, and receive four to 24 demerit points. They may also be prosecuted in court.

Here's where the new cameras will be at.

New locations

  • Loyang Avenue towards Tampines Avenue 7
  • Pan Island Expressway towards East Coast Parkway
  • Pan Island Expressway towards Tuas
  • Seletar Expressway towards Bukit Timah Expressway
  • Seletar Expressway towards Central Expressway
  • Upper Thomson Road towards Lornie Road
  • Upper Thomson Toad towards Sembawang Road
  • Yishun Avenue 1 towards Lentor Avenue

Locations which already have cameras

  • Ayer Rajah Expressway towards City
  • Ayer Rajah Expressway towards Jurong
  • Boon Lay Way towards Commonwealth Avenue West
  • Boon Lay Way towards Jalan Boon Lay
  • Bukit Batok Road towards Chua Chu Kang Road
  • Bukit Batok Road towards Jurong Town Hall Road
  • Bukit Timah Expressway towards Pan Island Expressway
  • Bukit Timah Expressway towards Woodlands
  • Holland Road towards Farrer Road
  • Holland Road towards Grange Road
  • Yishun Avenue 2 towards Lentor Avenue
  • Yishun Avenue 2 towards Sembawang Road