Dive alert! Were Ronaldo's penalties won from cheating?
A Cristiano Ronaldo quadruple led Real Madrid to a resounding 5-1 win over Elche in La Liga on Wednesday morning (Singapore time).
But should two of those goals - both from the penalty spot - been allowed in the first place?
The first penalty, which gave Real the lead after Gareth Bale equalised Edu Albacar's 15th-minute spot-kick, was won under dubious circumstances by Marcelo, who seemingly flung himself to the ground belatedly after a challenge from Pedro Mosquera.
Referee Carlos Clos Gomez somehow bought the Brazilian's performance and, despite protests from the Elche players, awarded Real a penalty, which Ronaldo gleefully accepted and converted.
You can see the replays for yourself.
Here's another angle of the incident:
Then came the 80th minute, when it was Ronaldo's turn to come under the spotlight.
The Portuguese flyer burst into the box and looked as if he had thrown himself to the floor to win his side a second penalty.
To be fair, it certainly looks like Ronaldo was thrown off balance by a clip on the heel by a stumbling challenge from Mario Pasalic from this angle:
And this angle:
Real might not have needed the two goals since they won comfortably enough, but diving to con the referee never wins you any friends.