Singapore one of five stops for new league

Singapore, Bangkok, Mumbai, Kuala Lumpur and a city in the Middle East will be home to the first five teams of the inaugural International Premier Tennis League (IPTL) later this year, its organisers announced yesterday.

The players' draft for the Nov 28-Dec 20 league will take place on March 2 in Dubai, said IPTL co-founder and Indian doubles specialist Mahesh Bhupathi.

"We've got a pretty exciting player field. We are going to announce that in a couple of weeks," Bhupathi said on the sidelines of the Australian Open.

Australian Lleyton Hewitt confirmed being part of the city-based league which was announced in May last year with a star-studded line-up that also included Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray.- Reuters.