Who did you vote to get the Golden Ball?

Yesterday, we asked you who should have won the Golden Ball - basically, who was the best player of the World Cup.

The official choice of Lionel Messi was not quite a hit with soccer pundits or fans, so we gave you five other choices: Netherlands' Arjen Robben, Colombia's James Rodriguez, Mexico's Guillermo Ochoa, Costa Rica's Keylor Navas and Germany's Thomas Mueller.

And the winner is:


Germany's Thomas Mueller!

Photo: AFP

He won it by a whisker though.

He got 34.26% of the votes.

Nertherland's Arjen Robben came in a close second with 32.55%.

The tournament's breakout star, James Rodriguez came in third with 21.06% of the votes.

Here he is doing his thang on the dancefloor.


Here are the full results:


Sepp Blatter came out to say that he was surprised when he found out that the Golden Ball was going to be awarded to Messi.

Even Messi's compatriot Maradona came out to say that Messi did not deserve the Golden Ball.

Oh poor Messi.

World CupLionel messiGolden Ball